Lignell Awards

Lignell Awards: Outstanding Teacher Recognition Program

For some years now the IEEE Florida West Coast Section (FWCS) has sponsored the Lignell Award Outstanding Teacher Recognition Program to recognize and honor outstanding contributions by Public High School teachers to pre-college education in Mathematics and/or Science pre-college education in Charlotte, Citrus, DeSoto, Hardee, Hernando, Hillsborough, Lee, Manatee, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, and Sarasota Counties.

This program is open to all individuals teaching classes in Mathematics and/or Science in the public high schools during the current school year. We are presently seeking nominations for this year’s awards that will be presented at the Tampa Bay Engineers Week Banquet 2024 at Jewish Community Center in Tampa on Thursday, February 22, 2024. The Banquet Center is at 522 N Howard Ave, Tampa, FL 33606. Please call (813) 575-5900 for more directions.

There will be three best recipients of this award from the twelve counties and the winners will be invited to attend the banquet, with a guest, to be presented with the award and an honorarium.

If there is a teacher at your school who you think should be considered for this prestigious award, please complete the enclosed nomination form and return it to the above address no later than December 15th, 2023.  It is important to submit your nomination form and any supporting materials in digital format through your email account (in lieu of a signature).  An electronic version of the form can be downloaded from the Tampa Bay Engineering Week Banquet website and returned to me via mail or e-mail to  We also encourage an additional narrative along with the nomination form that justifies the individual receiving this honor as the “Outstanding Teacher of Math and Science” in the entire county where they teach.  We would like to receive a number of nominations of “deserving and qualified” candidates throughout the county.  Please do not have a narrow screening process before the nominations are forwarded to me.  If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Sean Denny,